Oil Pump

5.0 V10 50v biturbo - 571 bhp
Jim Haseltine
4th Gear

Oil Pump

Post by Jim Haseltine » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:38 pm

After a struggle (understatement) which involved the use of every swear word I know in at least 3 languages I have got the oil pump off my car. Judging from the mucky oily deposits on the rear of the pump, it looks very much like it wasn't the O ring that was leaking, more like the pump seal. The shaft tube is quite tight in the O ring but the seal is slack. In my opinion there is something of a flaw in the design of the seal socket on the back of the pump as the shaft tube seats only a few mm deeper than the seal whilst it seats around 1cm past the O ring. Mind you, I'm not an engine designer so what do I know?
I'll know more once the new parts have arrived. The O ring flange is sealed to the chain drive with some sort of sealant which I assume is the same as VAG use on timing covers and the like - can anybody confirm this?

Jim Haseltine
4th Gear

Re: Oil Pump

Post by Jim Haseltine » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:46 pm

Now measured - O ring seat: 7mm below O ring
Pump seal seat: 3mm below seal.

ATinOf
3rd Gear

Post by ATinOf » Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:06 pm

A photo would explain Jim, struggling to picture what you are describing?

Jim Haseltine
4th Gear

Post by Jim Haseltine » Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:35 pm

A bit out of focus, this is with the shaft pushed as far into the pump and the O ring as possible.
1 is the oil pump end, 2 is the chain drive end (O ring).
It might be that the seal has been fitted too deeply into the pump, but it doesn't look like it to me.