How many owners is too many?

4.2 V8 32v Naturally Aspirated - 414 bhp
GA55LAR
Neutral

How many owners is too many?

Post by GA55LAR » Tue Dec 01, 2020 9:31 pm

Evening All,

Newbie here, be gentle :bigwave:

I've been looking at investing in a 2006 B7 for a while and have found a candidate that's had 8 owner's in those 14 years and done 105k.

Although I know performance vehicles tend to have a high turnover of owners, do you think this is too many? Just after your thoughts before I travel to view it.

If there's anything you can think of that I should be wary of for a B7 of this age/miles, please enlighten me too.

Any advice much appreciated :thumbs:

Cheers
G

Myth
1st Gear

Re: How many owners is too many?

Post by Myth » Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:53 pm

Find the reg number and ask if the car is known on here with eight owners chances are it might be known .

rs user
4th Gear

Post by rs user » Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:55 pm

mine had 7 previous when i bought it first time round
scince had it in wifes name then sold it-bought it back-sure its ten previous now....l
i dont really think the owners its had is always a reflection on the car-with the new v5 responsibilities a good few years ago cars now have plenty owners-especially high end stuff
my previous rs4 saloon had 2 previous owners and was a complete banger compared to the estate i have now in every respect interior,exterior,mechanically-some[not all] owners are reluctant to spend cash on long term ownership cars

rs user
4th Gear

Post by rs user » Wed Dec 02, 2020 4:07 pm

as for things to be aware of its all pretty well documented on here-some things cause issues but you wont find it till you go to do routine work or have owned it a while such as seized caliper pins on front,seized pinch bolts,