Possible dead engine :( edit: new engine on way :)

4.2 V8 32v Naturally Aspirated - 414 bhp
Rs4mar
2nd Gear

Possible dead engine :( edit: new engine on way :)

Post by Rs4mar » Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:56 pm

Hi,

I'm new to this but thought I'd put a post up and hopefully get some feedback.
I was driving my rs4 last night and all of a sudden I heard a noise, then the engine died and I noticed a lot of smoke in the rear view mirror. So I managed to roll into a lay-by and parked up, got out and noticed lots of smoke coming from under the car. I popped the bonnet but couldn't see anything, so had a look under the engine and all the engine oil was on the floor :(.
Managed to have the car recovered to my local Audi dealer but not expecting to hear much from them till Wednesday/Thursday. I'm no mechanic but I'm pretty certain it's gonna be something serious, just hoping my warranty covers it. Anyone else had something similar to this happen or have any ideas what might have caused this? Would be much appreciated, thanks
Last edited by Rs4mar on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2014 rs4 riviera blue

Madmonkee
4th Gear

Possible dead engine :(

Post by Madmonkee » Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:48 pm

Oil cooler pipes gone? Driver side puddle of oil?

RIV
Cruising

Re: Possible dead engine :(

Post by RIV » Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:57 pm

Oil cooler Pipes gone? Driver side puddle of Oil?
+1 was thinking the same, let's hope the engines not buggerd, just had mine replaced it's an important thing to check!!!

Rs4mar
2nd Gear

Post by Rs4mar » Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:08 pm