RNS-E upgrade

4.2 V8 40v biturbo - 450 bhp
4.2 V8 40v biturbo - 480 bhp (plus)
RS6Rottweiler
2nd Gear

RNS-E upgrade

Post by RS6Rottweiler » Thu Aug 08, 2019 12:13 am

I currently have the Mk1 RNS-E fitted and have been considering upgrading, reason being is Sat Nav isn't working and suspect GPS unit is at fault which is £260 from Audi for a new one. There are a few Mk2 RNS-E for sale but at £800 with postage there appears to be better alternatives available giving more usability with DAB, Apple Car Play etc. I have looked at Kenwood, Pioneer, Alpine and XCarLink and I'm sure there are others, Pioneer seems to be the best but I'm no expert. I appreciate this topic has been covered many time before but new gear comes out and as Ive said I'm no expert in this field so would appreciate any thoughts on best alternative or am I better to stick with the RNS-E in either Mk1 or Mk2 guise?

srichards
4th Gear

Re: RNS-E upgrade

Post by srichards » Thu Aug 08, 2019 8:01 am

If the GPS unit stopped working around April this year then it could be due to the GPS rollover bug so unless the firmware in the unit can be upgraded a new GPS from them may not even fix it. Out of warranty older units may not work without a firmware update so you'd have to ask Audi on what they've done about it.

I have a kenwood in mine that's a few years old. Works fine. Most of the apple car play implementations require you to plug your phone in with a cable. Watch out for the complicated update procedures that may only work on a windows PC. Pioneer have no way a mac user can update their head units. Ditto anyone that's just got tablets or phones at home. I don't know about the others in this respect as I've only had Kenwood and Pioneer over the years. JVC also do a cheapish one as well that Halfords have for about £400 or so.

Which is more important - originality or functionality? That will decide whether you keep an audi one or go for something more flexible.

RS6Rottweiler
2nd Gear