Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

2.9 V6 24v TFSI - 444 bhp
Post Reply
User avatar
RS4 Owner
3rd Gear
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:12 pm

Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by RS4 Owner » Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:51 pm

After 11 days of ownership, I think if one thing is going to annoy me, it is the start stop system.
Of course I turn it off, but it doesn't remember that I turned it off and keeps turning it back on again. :thumbsdown:
I hoping there is a way to make the car remember the setting or get it to default to off.

Has anyone found a way to fix this?
Current : 2018 F5 RS5
Gone : 2017 M3 CP (didn't like it :thumbsdown: )
Gone : 2007 B7 RS4 (loved this car :kissmyrings: )

Terminator_X
2nd Gear
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:52 am

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by Terminator_X » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:20 am

Used to be a voltage thing so vcds needed to turn it off. That way though you can't turn it back on again without a laptop and cables. I don't like it either although sometimes (stop start traffic) it's OK.

TX.

Sent from my BBB100-2 using Tapatalk


User avatar
Brooner
Cruising
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:12 am
Location: Scotlandshire

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by Brooner » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:55 pm

there was a fix for the SQ5 i did it n my wife's one where it remembered the last setting

from MYAudiQ5.com it might be a similar coding

I can confirm the below vag mode works on my Q5 :

- module 09-Cent. Elec.
- enter Security Code (shown up by default) (mine i 20113)
- Adaptation, Type Channel 34 and hit Read button, it should show the factory default number.
subtract 4 to the value --> Start&Stop always disabled
add 32 to the value --> remember last status
- test & save

In addition of these values, if you add 64 to the value, the Start & Stop button light will be reversed: off if Start & Stop is disabled, and on if Start & Stop is enabled.

My car original number is 28, and I changed it to 60. So if the last time, Start /Stop is disable (light is on), then when engine is switch on next time it is still disable (light is still on).

Or if you wanna get rid off that extra light on button, just put in your car number + 64 and save it.

Cannot happier.

User avatar
RS4 Owner
3rd Gear
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by RS4 Owner » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:02 pm

Brooner wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:55 pm
there was a fix for the SQ5 i did it n my wife's one where it remembered the last setting

from MYAudiQ5.com it might be a similar coding

I can confirm the below vag mode works on my Q5 :

- module 09-Cent. Elec.
- enter Security Code (shown up by default) (mine i 20113)
- Adaptation, Type Channel 34 and hit Read button, it should show the factory default number.
subtract 4 to the value --> Start&Stop always disabled
add 32 to the value --> remember last status
- test & save

In addition of these values, if you add 64 to the value, the Start & Stop button light will be reversed: off if Start & Stop is disabled, and on if Start & Stop is enabled.

My car original number is 28, and I changed it to 60. So if the last time, Start /Stop is disable (light is on), then when engine is switch on next time it is still disable (light is still on).

Or if you wanna get rid off that extra light on button, just put in your car number + 64 and save it.

Cannot happier.
Thanks for the info. :thumbs:

What hardware did you need to do this?
Current : 2018 F5 RS5
Gone : 2017 M3 CP (didn't like it :thumbsdown: )
Gone : 2007 B7 RS4 (loved this car :kissmyrings: )

User avatar
Brooner
Cruising
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:12 am
Location: Scotlandshire

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by Brooner » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:03 pm

Vag com cable and software the cable is about £200 and the software is a free download

User avatar
MikeFish
Cruising
Posts: 13634
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: The Middle of Somewhere

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by MikeFish » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:24 pm

Vagcom is called VCDS now.

I did exactly as Brooner described with by C7 i.e. made it remember the last setting and inverted the LED light so it is only on when start / stop is on meaning the light is always off in my case.
My wife's RS3 didn't have this option though so I did as TX mentioned and raised the minimum working voltage to make sure it never comes on (if the car thinks the battery is too flat it will deactivate the start / stop function
RS6 Performance Panther Black KW Adjustable springs, centre & front res delete, valves disconnected & valve delete units, TSW Bathurst, Eventuri intake

RS6 build thread: http://forum.rs246.com/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=119147

User avatar
RS4 Owner
3rd Gear
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:12 pm

Re: Start Stop Coding? (Hopefully)

Post by RS4 Owner » Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:33 pm

TX Brooner MikeFish thanks for the info guys. :thumbs:

Remembering the last setting and inverting the light would be ideal.
Did you use one of the "Ross Tech" cables?

Is this the right product?
https://store.ross-tech.com/Shop/vchv2_ent/

I have scanned through Ross Techs wiki, it talks about B6 B7 and B8 but nothing later.
Current : 2018 F5 RS5
Gone : 2017 M3 CP (didn't like it :thumbsdown: )
Gone : 2007 B7 RS4 (loved this car :kissmyrings: )

Post Reply

Return to “RS5 (F5) 2016–”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests