Quest for the Wholy Grail (Answers to "Sticky" Clutch issue)

4.2 V8 32v Naturally Aspirated - 414 bhp
nikkak77
Neutral

Quest for the Wholy Grail (Answers to "Sticky" Clutch issue)

Post by nikkak77 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:30 pm

Hi guys,

I am new to this company and a relatively fresh owner of an avant RS4 (roughly two years).
About 6 months ago I started having the famous "sticky" clutch problem and after trying everything others in here have tried, have not yet reached a solution.
I am totally frustrated and I could use any type of advise/info from anybody.

I initially changed the following in the below sequence:
1. Master cylinder + fluids
2. Slave cylinder + fluids
3. This tube 8E0721465 + fluids
4. Master cylinder again
5. Slave cylinder again
6. Entire clutch kit replaced with LOBA Sachs stage 2 (Pressure plate, disc, flywheel).
7. The entire pipe 8E0721465BK + fluids

Long story short, up until 4 the clutch stuck at the floor either after 1-3 gear WOT and/or spirited driving. Especially after 1 the clutch had an "empty" part of its travel to the floor, which until, today has never disappeared. I mean at the first couple of inched it is totally soft. at about after 1/3 it start to become normally stiff.

The crazy thing is that even after 7 (about a week ago) the empty part of the pedal route was there. Actually 7 was performed by a local Audi dealership. They said it should be fine and that the empty part is because the clutch is not an OEM dual mass (I ahve absolutely no idea if this pay be true).

However after a day;s driving the clutch got stuck on the floor after pressing the pedal and without spirited driving. I had to "detach" it by putting my foot behind the pedal.